Have you heard? Beginning January 1, 2012, a new law in California will require all children under 8 years old to ride in a car or booster seat in the back seat of a motor vehicle.
Children 8 years or older may use a vehicle seat belt if it fits properly with the lap belt low on the hips, touching the upper thighs, and the shoulder belt crossing the center of the chest. If children are not tall enough for proper belt fit, they must ride in a booster or car seat. The new law imposes fines and penalties for violations.
California joins more than 37 other states with strict booster seat laws. The law mirrors the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, among other agencies. Car crashes are the leading cause of death for children ages 4-12 and one of the leading causes of injury and disability. For your and your family’s safety, please remember to have everyone buckle up!
For more information, please contact a certified child passenger safety technician in CHOC’s Community Education Department, by calling 714-509-8887. A free child passenger safety class and a low cost car seat program (in English and Spanish) is available.