Echoing longtime recommendations from CHOC Children’s and the American Academy of Pediatrics, children in California are now required to ride in rear-facing car seats until age 2, under new state legislation.
As of January 1, 2017, the law extends the former requirement that children face backward until age 1. The new law does not apply to children who weigh more than 40 pounds or are 40 inches or taller.
CHOC community educators, however, continue to recommend more stringent guidelines for children and rear-facing seats. They encourage parents to keep in mind the following tips:
- Facing the rear is the safest way for a baby or toddler to ride.
- Keep toddlers in a rear-facing convertible car seat at least until age 2 or until they reach the maximum weight and height for their seat.
- The harness straps should be snug and placed at or below the shoulder level.
- Children have outgrown their current car seat when there is less than one inch of space between the top of their head and the top of the car seat.
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children ages 1 to 14 in the United States. According to a 2007 study in Injury Prevention, children younger than 2 are 75 percent less likely to die or be severely injured in a crash when they’re riding in rear-facing car seats. They are also a major cause of permanent brain damage, epilepsy and spinal cord injuries. Many of the deaths and injuries can be prevented with the proper use of child restraints and seat belts.
CHOC child passenger safety technicians are available to answer car seat questions regarding current laws, how to select an appropriate seat for your child, and what you need to know to install and use the child restraint correctly.
For more information on child passenger safety, visit CHOC’s community education page.
Choosing the right car seat and installing it correctly can be confusing enough, but imagine the challenges that mount for families of children with special needs.
Traditional store-bought car seats may ...
Just in time for Child Passenger Safety Week (Sept. 13-19), check out the following guidelines from OC Keep Kids Safe, an injury prevention program of the American Academy of Pediatrics, ...
Have you heard? Beginning January 1, 2012, a new law in California will require all children under 8 years old to ride in a car or booster seat in the ...
Most of us are often in a hurry, but before getting in a vehicle, all drivers, even those without children, should walk around their parked vehicles to check for children, or anything that could attract a child, such as a pet or toy. Sadly, thousands of children are killed or injured every year because a driver backing up didn’t see them.
In an effort to raise awareness about protecting kids in and around vehicles, CHOC Children’s teaches families about preventable injuries that occur in driveways and parking lots when drivers are unaware that children are near vehicles. Take a minute to check out these important safety tips:
- Designate an adult to supervise and find a safe spot for children to wait when nearby vehicles are about to move and make sure the drivers can see them.
- Limit play in the driveway. Work with your kids to pick up toys and sports equipment off the driveway.
- Don’t allow children to play unattended in parking lots when cars are present.
- Accompany little kids when they get in and out of a vehicle. Hold their hands while walking near moving vehicles, or in driveways, sidewalks and parking lots.
- Keep vehicles locked at all times; even in the garage or driveway.
- Trim landscaping around the driveway to ensure clear visibility.
- Note that steep inclines and large SUVs, trucks and vans add to the difficulty of seeing behind a vehicle.
- Teach children that “parked” vehicles might move. Remind them that they may be able to see the vehicle, but the driver may not be able to see them.
For more safety tips, programs and services at CHOC, including a list of community education classes, visit http://www.choc.org/community/.
CHOC Children’s would like to remind everyone to never leave your child alone in a car, not even for a minute. Since 1998, more than 550 children across the United ...
Your teenager has earned their driver’s license, hooray! However, before you hand over the keys, be mindful that the first six months after getting a license are the most dangerous ...
Summer is flying by, but there’s still plenty of time for travel. After all, summer isn’t complete without a getaway. Whether your family is jet-setting across an ocean or taking ...